Tuesday, 5 August 2014

Azooma - A Hymn Of The Vicious Monster EP (CD Review)

02.Self Inflicted
03.Eridanus Supervoid
04.Encapsulated Delusion

Shahin Vaqfipour (Vocals)
Ahmad Tokallou (Guitar)
Farid Shariat (Bass)
Saeed Shariat (Drums)

In May 2004, Iranian guitarist Ahmad Tokallou and bassist Farid Shariat decided to form a band with their interest in the Rock and Metal genres but in a new way, which was influenced by their own familiar Persian culture. Farid's brother, Saeed Shariat - drummer, joined them in July 2004, and completed the band.

The band began practicing, covering songs from bands such as Death, Iced Earth, Iron Maiden, Metallica and Kreator, while developing their own sound. Soon after, they began to compose original songs which sent them to the underground metal scene of Mashhad, The Holy City. In 2005 they played their first show in their home town and then they decided to focus more on the Progressive and Death Metal genres.

This led them to invite vocalist and lyricist Shahin Vaqfipour to the band. They created their first demo in 2006, by 2009, Ahmad and Saeed joined another Iranian death metal band temporarily because of Farid's service in the Army until spring 2012. They played several shows and festivals in countries such as India, Dubai and Armenia, but as Ahmad and Saeed couldn't see any future for themselves in that band, they left and built their own rehearsal room.

They spent most of 2012 and 2013 writing and recording new material for their debut EP, "A Hymn Of The Vicious Monster", which sounds heavy, brutal and fast. They mixed old school death metal elements with some Persian ones.
In 2014, they contacted the Iranian heavy metal Journalist and Chief Editor of Metal Shock Finland, Mohsen Fayyazi, for help to reach a suitable record label for releasing this EP. Mohsen accepted their request and they inked a deal.

This is basically an EP, yet track one is an acoustic intro!
However 'Self Inflicted' comes as something of a surprise as we get some excellent death metal complete with cookie monster vocals, furious druuming and endless riffs!

'Eridanus Supervoid' runs for just over 8 minutes, after some more death metal the song breaks down to a funky little drum and guitar passage, then turns into an almost progressive piece full of harmonic vocals and sweeping guitarwork, really good twist.

The 'Encapsulated Delusion' is another drum heavy song this one does not get slow or clever in fact this one gets faster and faster!

The 'Gyrocompass' starts with some great melodic vocal and music before turning into a brutal 10 minute onslaught on the senses, There is a great breakdown again, this one has what sounds like ethnic instruments, really good.

And, oh dear, we get an outro BUT hooray, this one actually works as a mini song, nice vocals and acoustic instruments.

Rating 7/10
For fans Of:Nile, Morbid Angel, Six Feet Under, Kreator

No comments: