Cyrence - The Hospital EP (CD Review)

01.A New Begininng
03.This Life
04.The Hospital
05.I Won't Fall
06.You Kill Me
07.Purity Control

Tim Grathwohl (Vocals/Guitar)
Dominic Millett (Guitar)
Chris Hammer (Bass)
Thomas Goldberg (Drums)

Started in 2006 as a solo project of Tim Grathwohl (Vocals and Guitar, Ex-ONE MORE DAY/Ex-GATECRUSHER). In early 2009 they became a full band, featuring bassist Sebastian Moser of SHAPESHIFT/CYNICISM and Chris Boenisch on drums. In late 2009, drumming duties were handed over to Lenz Scharf (SICK SOUL/Ex- A-RECORDZ/Ex-GATECRUSHER).

With Artur Vladinovskij on Lead Guitar, the line-up was complete from late 2009 until April 2010.
Due to conflicting schedules, Artur left and was replaced by Dominic Millett in May 2010. Unfortunately, Basti and Lenz decided to leave the Band in June 2011, again because of conflicting schedules. Luckily, Thomas Goldberg, former drummer of DEATHFEAR, joined in October 2011. In March 2012 finally they found the right person to fill the gap Basti left behind, as Chris Hammer (Ex-KNOW YOUR FOE/AS MENTIONED BELOW) joined the band as their permanent Bassist.

'Dystopia' starts after another fucking intro to an ep/album!
What we get is a very mature sounding melodic thrash metal influenced sound, vocals sung properly (no grunts and growls), solid drumming and endless riffs.

Next few tracks do exactly the same a precision take on the genre faultless in its delivery with a lavish sound production.

'I Wont Fall' is a seven minute mini-masterpiece starts slowly and just builds layer upon layer, highly rhythmic drum patterns blended with clean chord structures, then some timing changes to slow things down before a new rhythm starts, stop/start drum and vocal keeps things intresting, then full on thrash assault time!

Rating 9/10
For fans of: Metallica, Megadeth, Exodus, Evile, Kemakil


Popular Posts